Filter by genre

Joint Statement on the Theatre Industry - Monday 23 October 2017

Following the reports and allegations of the last two weeks, first in America and, more recently, closer to home, we have come together to make clear that there can be no place for sexual harassment or abuse of power in our industry. 

We salute the bravery of everyone who calls out this abusive behaviour. We support a theatre culture that empowers people to speak up: a culture where abuse of power is always challenged.  

We are committed to working together to ensure that theatre is a safe space for all, where everyone is respected and listened to. The Royal Court Theatre’s Day of Action on Saturday 28 October is one important part of this process. Together, we are developing further ways to support people to speak up and to hold others to account. 

It is the responsibility of the industry to create and nurture a culture where unacceptable behaviour is swiftly challenged and addressed.  

We want to be absolutely clear and say again: there is no room for sexual harassment or abuse of power in the theatre. Everyone deserves to enjoy a happy, healthy and safe working environment. We will support you to speak out, and we will hear you when you do.


Statement from (in alphabetical order)

Almeida Theatre – Rupert Goold, Denise Wood 
Arcola Theatre – Mehmet Ergen, Leyla Nazli, Ben Todd
Arts Theatre - Louis Hartshorn
Battersea Arts Centre – David Jubb 
Barbican Theatre - Toni Racklin
Belgrade Theatre – Hamish Glen, Joanna Reid 
Birmingham Repertory Theatre – Roxana Silbert and Stuart Rogers
Birmingham Stage Company - Neal Foster and Louise Eltringham
Bridge Theatre – Nicholas Hytner, Nick Starr
Bristol Old Vic – Tom Morris, Emma Stenning
Bush Theatre – Madani Younis, Jon Gilchrist
Chichester Festival Theatre – Daniel Evans, Rachel Tackley
Curve Theatre - Chris Stafford and Nikolai Foster
Donmar Warehouse – Josie Rourke, Kate Pakenham 
Gate Theatre – Ellen McDougall, Jo Royce
Global Creatures - Carmen Pavlovic and Patrick Murphy
Greenwich Theatre - James Haddrell
Hampstead Theatre – Edward Hall, Greg Ripley-Duggan
Harrogate Theatre - David Bown
Headlong – Jeremy Herrin, Alan Stacey
Hofesh Shechter Company – Hofesh Shechter, Henny Finch 
HOME, Manchester – Dave Moutrey, Sheena Wrigley
Hull Truck Theatre - Janthi Mills-Ward and Mark Babych
HQ Theatres and Hospitality – Julian Russell
Kneehigh – Mike Shepherd, Ali Robertson
Leicester Curve – Chris Stafford, Nikolai Foster
Lichfield Garrick Theatre – Karen Foster
Liverpool Everyman and Theatre - Gemma Bodinetz and Deborah Aydon
Live Theatre - Jim Beirne, Max Roberts and Wendy Barnfather
London Theatre Consortium – Emma Rees
Lyric Hammersmith – Sean Holmes, Sian Alexander
Lyric Theatre, Belfast - Ciaran McAuley
Manchester Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson
Mark Goucher Productions Limited – Mark Goucher
Menier Chocolate Factory - David Babani and Tom Siracusa
Mercury Theatre Colchester - Steve Mannix
National Theatre – Rufus Norris, Lisa Burger
National Theatre of Scotland - Jackie Wylie and Brenna Hobson
Newcastle Theatre Royal and City Hall – Philip Bernays
New Adventures - Robert Noble
New Wolsey Theatre – Sarah Homes
Northern Ballet - Mark Skipper and David Nixon
Northern Stage - Lorne Campbell and Kate Denby
Nottingham Playhouse - Stephanie Sirr, Adam Penford, Giles Croft
Nuffield Southampton Theatres - Sam Hodges and Caroline Routh
Octagon Theatre Bolton - Roddy Gauld and Elizabeth Newman
Old Vic – Matthew Warchus, Kate Varah
Orange Tree Theatre – Paul Miller, Sarah Nicholson
Oxford Playhouse - Louise Chantal
Pitlochry Festival Theatre - John Durnin and Kris Bryce
Playful Productions - Janet Powell
Rose Theatre Kingston - Jerry Gunn and Robert O'Dowd
Royal Court Theatre – Vicky Featherstone, Lucy Davies
Royal & Derngate - Martin Sutherland and James Dacre
Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson, Sarah Frankcom
Royal Opera House – Alex Beard, Oliver Mears
Royal Ballet – Kevin O’Hare
Royal Shakespeare Company - Gregory Doran, Catherine Mallyon
Runaway Entertainment - Tristan Baker, Charlie Parsons
Shakespeare’s Globe – Emma Rice, Neil Constable, Michelle Terry
Sheffield Theatres - Dan Bates
Soho Theatre - Steve Marmion, Mark Godfrey 
SOLT / UK Theatre – Julian Bird, Cassandra Chadderton 
Sonia Friedman Productions – Sonia Friedman
Stephen Joseph Theatre - Stephen Freeman
Theatr Clwyd – Tamara Harvey, Liam Evans-Ford
Theatre by the Lake – Conrad Lynch
Theatre Royal Stratford East – Nadia Fall, Deborah Sawyerr 
The Capitol Horsham - Nick Mowat
The Round Company - Tobias Round
Told by an Idiot – Paul Hunter, Jenni Grainger
Tricycle Theatre – Indhu Rubasingham, Bridget Kalloushi 
Unicorn Theatre – Purni Morell, Anneliese Davidsen
Venue Cymru / Theatr Colwyn – Sarah Ecob
Warwick Arts Centre – Alan Rivett
Watford Palace Theatre - Jamie Arden and Brigid Larmour
West Yorkshire Playhouse – James Brining and Robin Hawkes
Young Vic – David Lan, Lucy Woollatt 


Cookies on our website

Stratford has updated its cookie policy. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites. Such third party cookies may track your use on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.